Board & Committees


Hitchcock Center for the Environment / Photo Credit: Peter Vanderwarker

Board of Directors

The Softwood Lumber Board has 14 Directors, including 10 domestic manufacturers and four importers; all are softwood lumber CEOs and industry leaders appointed by the USDA Secretary under provisions of the Commodity Promotion, Research, and Information Act of 1996. Representation on the Board is proportional to regional production, and domestic manufacturers and importers of a variety of softwood lumber products from a broad range of size and type of company are represented. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

Click here to view the BOD Map

2023 SLB Board of Directors

  • Tim Biewer, Biewer Lumber
  • Marc Brinkmeyer, Idaho Forest Group
  • Eric Cremers, PotlatchDeltic
  • Caroline Dauzat, Rex Lumber
  • George Emmerson, Sierra Pacific Industries
  • Ray Ferris, West Fraser
  • J.D. Hankins, Hankins, Inc.
  • Jack Jordan, Jordan Lumber (Chair Emeritus)
  • Brian Luoma, The Westervelt Company
  • Jim Neiman, Neiman Enterprises, Inc.
  • Keith O’Rear, Weyerhauser
  • Jerome Pelletier, J.D. Irving, Ltd.
  • Rick Stanley, TR Miller Mill Company
  • Hugues Simon, Resolute Forest Products
  • Brad Thorlakson, Tolko Industries Ltd.


Executive Committee

  • Brian Luoma, Board Chair
  • Ray Ferris, First Vice Chair
  • Brad Thorlakson, Second Vice Chair
  • Jim Neiman, Treasurer
  • J.D. Hankins, Secretary
  • Caroline Dauzat, Immediate Past Chair, Ex-Officio
  • George Emmerson, Chair Emeritus, Ex-Officio
  • Marc Brinkmeyer, Chair Emeritus, Ex-Officio
  • Jack Jordan, Chair Emeritus, Ex-Officio
  • Don Kayne, Programs Chair Emeritus, Ex-Officio

Finance Committee

  • Jim Neiman, Committee Chair
  • Eric Cremers
  • J.D. Hankins
  • Furman Brodie (Non-Board Member)
  • Susan Coulombe (Non-Board Member)
  • Ian Fillinger (Non-Board Member)
  • Fritz Mason (Non-Board Member)
  • Alden Robbins (Non-Board Member)
  • Brian Luoma, Ex-Officio
  • Ray Ferris, Ex-Officio

Industry Relations and Governance Committee

  • J.D. Hankins, Committee Chair
  • Tim Biewer
  • Keith O’Rear
  • Hugues Simon
  • Ricky Stanley 
  • Jim Langdale (Non-Board Member)
  • Todd Payne (Non-Board Member)
  • Brian Luoma, Ex-Officio
  • Ray Ferris, Ex-Officio

Lead Staff to the Finance Committee and Industry Relations and Governance Committee: Maureen Pello, SVP Operations

Research and Promotion Programs Committee

All SLB Directors are considered members of the Programs Committee. Directors participate in regular program oversight, and Softwood Lumber Board meetings are planned to provide for a thorough examination of the SLB’s programs with opportunities for input from all Directors.

  • Brad Thorlakson, Committee Chair
  • All SLB Directors (Voting Members)
  • Jack Jordan, Ex-Officio
  • Don Kayne, Programs Chair Emeritus, Ex-Officio

Lead Staff to the Research and Promotion Programs Committee: Ryan Flom, Chief Marketing Officer

Secretary Appointments

View the Secretary’s Appointments for terms starting January 9, 2023

View the Secretary’s original appointments